The House

A stone's throw from the ancient market place, next to the glass curve of the most popular public library in Britain and down a sweeping driveway, stands The Assembly House.

Designed by architect Thomas Ivory in 1754 on the site of a medieval chapel, no expense was spared in the construction of the House, which historians view as one of the most important buildings in Norwich.

This distinguished red-brick Georgian building has been a place for concerts, dances and exhibitions in its ballroom and grand hall; among many notable events over the years has been a piano concert by Franz Liszt in 1840 and a display of Madame Tussaud’s waxworks in 1825.

In 1995, a fire destroyed much of the building. Restoration was overseen by charity The Assembly House Trust, which has worked in partnership with local hoteliers Richard Hughes and Iain Wilson to add 15 stylish rooms in former staff quarters.


The Assembly House Trust is a registered charity, which continues to support and develop creative arts in the local community.

The Trust owns The Assembly House. Its commercial functions are operated by The House (Norwich) Ltd through its directors, Richard Hughes and Iain Wilson. The Trust is a registered charity which has as one of its principal objects developing the creative arts and supporting the local community.

The Trust’s role is to preserve, renovate and keep in good order The Assembly House in Norwich and provide and promote the use of the building for the benefit of the public, particularly those living in Norfolk and Suffolk.

The Assembly House Trust has always been a proud supporter of the Arts.

Throughout the years the building has played host to a wide range of art exhibitions, live concerts, lectures and other activities. Grants and assistance can be provided for some artistic and performance endeavours at the House, please visit for more information.

Monthly lunchtime concerts are hosted in the Georgian Music Room, supported by The Assembly House Trust, by Assembly House Classical, visit here for more details.

The Assembly House Summer Open Arts Exhibition was held in June 2023. Find out more here.

For more information about the history and heritage of The Assembly House, pick up a free booklet at the House or click here to download a PDF version of A History: The Assembly House Norwich.

The Assembly House has a permanent collection of works on display throughout the building including paintings and prints by Arthur E Davies, John Crome, Oliver Messel and Wilfred S Pettitt.

There is a guide to all the exhibited works - you can view the guide here. Physical copies are available from the reception desk in the Grand Hall.

Follow The Assembly House Trust on Facebook or Instagram.


The Assembly House has always been the place to be in Norwich since the 19th century when it was the favoured watering hole of the local gentry who would come to drink and dance beneath its magnificent crystal chandelier.

In 1805, a Grand Ball was held to celebrate Nelson's glorious victory at the Cape of Trafalgar and the hall has welcomed countless dignitaries over the centuries. The impressive Georgian features still remain and today the hall is the perfect place to meet for drinks and in winter, when a welcoming fire is lit in the grate, is a wonderful place to recharge after Christmas shopping.


This beautiful ballroom makes a stunning backdrop for larger occasions thanks to its high ceilings, crystal chandeliers and polished wooden floor. This impressive space is decorated with paintings of the Noverre family, from whom the room takes its name, and is where the people of Norwich first learned classical dance.

One of the largest function rooms in the city, today The Noverre Ballroom is used for dinner dances, balls, weddings and parties in addition to product launches, meetings, conferences and live performances.

It benefits from its own entrance, staging and a licensed bar and also has a pretty, enclosed garden which can be reached through French doors and offers the perfect place for al fresco drinks.


With its stunning chandeliers, minstrels' gallery and resident Steinway grand piano, The Music Room is the most regal room in the House. Benefitting from an abundance of natural light, this majestic suite provides a wonderful space for all sorts of events ranging from weddings to conferences, thanks to its licensed bar, balconies, stage and dance floor.


Named after the Hobart family who owned the House in the early 17th century and who built Blickling Hall in the north of the county, The Hobart Room is an attractive function room located just off the Grand Hall. Perfectly-proportioned for more intimate celebrations, its wonderful architecture includes a feature fireplace, period panelling and huge sash windows overlooking the courtyard and fountain. The Hobart Room is ideal for private dining and business meetings.


Located on the first floor, the Pierce and Kent Suites are a collection of rooms which offer stunning views over the main courtyard and sweeping driveway.

They offer great flexibility for both corporate and social functions and benefit from their situation in one of the most peaceful parts of the House. Disabled access to these rooms is available via a lift from the ground floor.

In 2022, as part of the Norwich Pride celebrations for 2022, The Assembly House hosted an exhibition filled with an eclectic display of work from East Anglian LGBTQIA+ artists in the Pierce Room. The 2023 Norwich Pride art exhibition will be held from July 24 to 29 at The Assembly House.

Get In Touch

The Assembly House

For all general enquiries including wedding, private dining, corporate or questions about the House please use the form below and our team will aim to get back to you within 48 hours.